EMORY NURSING



Award and Honors

Awards:

Brittany Butts was selected to receive the CVSN Best Abstract Award by the American Heart Association's Council on Cardiovascular and Stroke Nursing (CVSN). Dr. Butts received the award at the organization's 2023 Scientific Sessions following the presentation of her proposal, "Sex Differences in Relationships Between Inflammation and Symptoms in Persons with Heart Failure."

Quyen Phan received a "Healthcare Hero" award by the Vietnamese American Healthcare Professional Association of Georgia on October 28, 2023

Best Research Paper Award at the 3rd International Educational Research Symposium Lamb R., Owen, T., & **Choi, I.** (2023). Artificial intelligence, wearable sensors, and their role in assessment and adaptive learning environments. Paper presented at the 3rd International Symposium on Educational Research (ERL2023). Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.

https://education.ecu.edu/news/2023/11/22/lamb-owens-receive-best-research-paper-award/

Crista Irwin won first prize in the Write Your Science contest for her submission, "If not now, when?"

Brittany Butts was selected as the Preventive Cardiovascular Nurses Association's 2024 Heart Failure Prevention Award winner. This will be awarded at the PCNA Annual Cardiovascular Nursing Symposium, April 18-20, 2024 in Orlando, Florida.

Youjeong Kang has been selected to receive the Traineeship in Advanced Data Analytics (a collaborative program between AIM-AHEAD and All of Us Research Program Researcher Academy).

The book, Nursing Leadership During Crisis, was selected for the 2023 American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award. It was awarded 2nd Place in the Health Care Administration category. Reilly, C. M., **Kaplan, B.**, & **Porter-O'Grady, T.** (2022). Nursing Leadership During Crisis: Insights Guiding Leaders From the Covid-19 Pandemic. Sigma.

Honors:

Jinbing Bai was selected to join the NCTN and NCORP Social Determinants of Health Working Group under NCI. NCI's National Clinical Trials Network (NCTN) provides the infrastructure for NCI-funded treatment and primary advanced imaging trials to improve the lives of people with cancer.

LisaMarie Wands accepted as a Distinguished Fellow of the National Academies of Practice (NAP) in Nursing. NAP focuses on and brings professionals together to facilitate and transform interprofessional healthcare. NAP is dedicated to advancing health and wellbeing through patient-centeredness and inclusivity. The induction ceremony will be held in March 2024 in Jacksonville, FL.

Jeannie Weston was accepted as a Distinguished Fellow of the National Academies of Practice (NAP) in Nursing.

Sarah Febres-Cordero and NHWSON nursing Alum were featured in a local story by Atlanta Eater "Narcan Training Has Become Essential Staff Education at These Atlanta Bars".

Melinda Higgins and Ursula Kelly's recently published paper was one of the most read papers from the December 2023 issue of JAMA Network Open. Zaccari B, Higgins M, Haywood TN, Patel, M, Emerson, D, Hubbard, K, Loftis, JM, Kelly, UA. Yoga vs Cognitive Processing Therapy for Military Sexual Trauma—Related Posttraumatic Stress Disorder: A Randomized Clinical Trial. *JAMA Netw Open*. 2023;6(12):e2344862. doi:10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2023.44862

Meredith Farmer was accepted for the Emerging Leader Fellowship Program through the National Association of Neonatal Nurses and Synova Associates.

Appointments

Bethany Robertson was appointed to co-lead the Innovation Collaborative for the American Interprofessional Health Collaborative (a new collaborative for AIHC). AIHC is the membership arm of The National Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education

Rowena Elliot has served as a Board Commissioner for the National League for Nursing (NLN) Commission for Nursing Education Accreditation (CNEA) for the past 3 years (2020-2022), and was

recently re-elected by the NLN membership to another 3-year term and will serve from January 1, 2024 to December 31, 2026.

Laurie Ray has been appointed to serve a two-year term 1/2024-12/2025 on the Society of Family Planning (SFP), Clinical Affairs Committee. Aside from the staff member committee chair, she is the only non-MD committee member.

Laurie Ray has been appointed to serve a One-year term 1/2024-12/2024 on the National Association of Nurse Practitioners in Women's Health (NPWH), Advocacy Committee.

Grants

LisaMarie Wands was awarded a \$10,000 intramural grant from the Office of Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Practice to support an interprofessional simulation I will implement in Spring with School of Medicine colleagues.

Shannon Stevenson, Lalita Kaligotla, and Jasmine Clark received an IPECP grant from the WHSC IPECP office for our FACES (Fellowship in Advocacy, Community Engagement, and Social entrepreneurship) in the Georgia Perinatal Health program. A collaboration with Dr. Sarah Blake from RSPH. This is the pilot year, with 11 fellows from 5 different schools across Emory. The grant will allow us to provide stipends to our fellows, increase engagement and support of community partners, and work towards scaling up the fellowship to work towards addressing maternal health in GA.

Yufen Lin was selected as one of the attendees to participate in the NRG NCORP pilot grant workshop in February 2024 in Orlando, FL. Her project, "A Technology-Based Dyadic Intervention to Improve Symptom Management and Reduce Health Disparities in Colorectal Cancer Patients and Their Caregivers," aligns with the aims and priorities of NCORP. This workshop will provide a valuable opportunity to engage with NCORP leadership and statisticians, enabling me to gain insightful feedback and guidance for my project.